Department of aquatic ecology (Trondheim)

Department of aquatic ecology

The department of aquatic ecology consists of ecologists, statisticians and geneticists with knowledge of both freshwater and coastal areas.

The department is divided into four research groups, in addition to NINA’s genetic laboratory and the research station at Ims, Rogaland.

Ansatte ved akvatisk avdeling i Trondheim
The department of aquatic ecology is situated in Trondheim. Photo © Anne Olga Syverhuset/NINA.

Research group: Hydropower and climate

Research Director: Ingeborg Palm Helland

NINA has a long research history of projects focusing on ecological effects of hydropower production, both in Norway and abroad. Our projects in reservoirs and regulated rivers include everything from basic research to environmental impact assessments. Through our research, we document effects on benthic invertebrates, fish and freshwater pearl mussel, identify the mechanisms behind these effects and suggest mitigation actions. We also study fish migrations and fish-ways.

Climate changes will modify the conditions, distribution and dynamic of many species. Researchers at the department of aquatic ecology work with understanding how melting of snow and ice and changes in hydrological patterns will affect fish populations, changes in the production and growth patterns of aquatic species, as well as interactions between climate change and area use.

Research group: Aquaculture and coastal ecosystems

Research Director:Tor F. Næsje

Within aquaculture NINA study different environmental effects of farmed salmon, in both freshwater and the sea. Important topics are the challenges related to farmed salmon escapees and hybrids with wild salmon, as well as effects of sea lice on production and wellbeing of wild salmonids. NINA also perform research related to sustainable area use, management of marine species and ecosystems in coastal areas.

Research group: Wild salmonids

Research Director: Kjetil Hindar

NINA represents the continuation of a century of research on anadromous salmonids in Norway. We analyse stock-recruitment relationships to set conservation limits for salmon populations, and study the dynamics of populations in space and time. We apply molecular genetic analyses to investigate the effects of supplementation and escaped farm salmon on wild populations, and maintain a modern genetic laboratory in the NINA house in Trondheim. NINA has a fully equipped aquatic research station at Ims in southwestern Norway where we control fish migrating in the River Imsa (Atlantic salmon, brown trout and European eel) with a two-way fish trap, and where we perform experiments in tanks and artificial streams with salmonid fishes and other species.

Research group: Freshwater ecology

Research Director: Odd Terje Sandlund

NINA’s freshwater ecology research includes, i.e., monitoring of fish and invertebrates in rivers and lakes, ecosystem processes (focusing on fish, zoobenthos and zooplankton), and research related to the implementation of the EU Water Framework Directive in Norway. Exploitation of inland fish, as well as the occurrence and spreading of non-native fish species in Norwegian inland waters, are also important subjects. An important activity is research on the impact of anthropogenic activities on invertebrates and fish (sea trout and resident trout) in streams and small rivers, with a view to identify mitigation and restoration measures. 

 

Akvatisk avdeling

Kjetil  Hindar

Stilling:    Forskningssjef

Telefon: 934 66 746
E-post: kjetil.hindar@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Ingeborg Palm  Helland

Stilling:    Forskningssjef

Telefon: 976 54 820
E-post: ingeborg.helland@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Tor Fredrik  Næsje

Stilling:    Forskningssjef

Telefon: 934 66 778
E-post: tor.naesje@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Odd Terje  Sandlund

Stilling:    Forskningssjef

Telefon: 926 06 683
E-post: odd.t.sandlund@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Tonje  Aronsen

Stilling:    Forsker II

Telefon: 971 23 901
E-post: tonje.aronsen@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Torveig  Balstad

Stilling:    Overingeniør

Telefon: 917 35 043
E-post: torveig.balstad@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Marius  Berg

Stilling:    Overingeniør

Telefon: 454 34 082
E-post: marius.berg@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Morten Andre  Bergan

Stilling:    Forsker III

Telefon: 928 98 175
E-post: morten.bergan@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Geir H.  Bolstad

Stilling:    Postdoktor

Telefon: 920 37 665
E-post: geir.bolstad@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Terje  Bongard

Stilling:    Forsker I

Telefon: 986 44 786
E-post: terje.bongard@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Hege  Brandsegg

Stilling:    Avdelingsingeniør


E-post: hege.brandsegg@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Gunnbjørn  Bremset

Stilling:    Forsker I

Telefon: 464 74 177
E-post: gunnbjorn.bremset@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Knut Andreas Eikland  Bækkelie

Stilling:    Avdelingsingeniør

Telefon: 997 89 101
E-post: knut.bakkelie@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Idun O. Bremseth  Bårdstu

Stilling:    Avdelingskonsulent

Telefon: 934 66 780
E-post: idun.bardstu@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Ola Håvard  Diserud

Stilling:    Seniorforsker

Telefon: 932 18 823
E-post: ola.diserud@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Antti  Eloranta

Stilling:    Postdoktor

Telefon: 404 96 830
E-post: antti.eloranta@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Steinar  Engen

Stilling:    Vitenskapelig rådgiver



Vis detaljer
 

Line Birkeland  Eriksen

Stilling:    Overingeniør

Telefon: 404 76 871
E-post: line.eriksen@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Bengt  Finstad

Stilling:    Seniorforsker

Telefon: 934 66 784
E-post: bengt.finstad@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Peder  Fiske

Stilling:    Seniorforsker

Telefon: 934 66 733
E-post: peder.fiske@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Anders  Foldvik

Stilling:    Forsker II

Telefon: 402 03 036
E-post: anders.foldvik@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Torbjørn  Forseth

Stilling:    Seniorforsker

Telefon: 926 43 437
E-post: torbjorn.forseth@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Frode  Fossøy

Stilling:    Forsker II

Telefon: 996 92 303
E-post: frode.fossoy@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Torgeir Børresen  Havn

Stilling:    Avdelingsingeniør

Telefon: 926 20 787
E-post: Torgeir.Havn@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Richard  Hedger

Stilling:    Forsker I

Telefon: 404 66 568
E-post: richard.hedger@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Ditte Katrine  Hendrichsen

Stilling:    Forsker I

Telefon: 968 57 084
E-post: ditte.hendrichsen@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Trygve H.  Hesthagen

Stilling:    Seniorforsker

Telefon: 995 93 389
E-post: trygve.hesthagen@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Arne Johan  Jensen

Stilling:    Seniorforsker

Telefon: 916 61 101
E-post: arne.jensen@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Jan Gunnar  Jensås

Stilling:    Avdelingsingeniør

Telefon: 411 01 252
E-post: jan.g.jensas@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Johanna  Järnegren

Stilling:    Seniorforsker

Telefon: 918 97 148
E-post: johanna.jarnegren@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Sten Ola  Karlsson

Stilling:    Forsker I

Telefon: 911 24 058
E-post: sten.karlsson@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Eli  Kvingedal

Stilling:    Forsker II

Telefon: 943 32 314
E-post: eli.kvingedal@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Bjørn Mejdell  Larsen

Stilling:    Forsker II

Telefon: 934 66 215
E-post: bjorn.m.larsen@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Oskar  Pettersen

Stilling:    Avdelingsingeniør

Telefon: 995 99 440
E-post: oskar.pettersen@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Grethe  Robertsen

Stilling:    Forsker II

Telefon: 984 64 786
E-post: grethe.robertsen@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Carolyn  Rosten

Stilling:    Forsker II

Telefon: 982 94 121
E-post: carolyn.rosten@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Randi J.  Saksgård

Stilling:    Overingeniør

Telefon: 996 90 501
E-post: randi.saksgard@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Laila M.  Saksgård

Stilling:    Overingeniør

Telefon: 959 91 942
E-post: laila.saksgard@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Hanno  Sandvik



Vis detaljer
 

Ana Margarida Ferreira Teixeira da  Silva

Stilling:    Postdoktor

Telefon: 455 03 711
E-post: ana.silva@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Rolf  Sivertsgård

Stilling:    Avdelingsingeniør

Telefon: 915 92 719
E-post: rolf.sivertsgard@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Sigrid Østrem  Skoglund

Stilling:    Avdelingsingeniør

Telefon: 907 86 798
E-post: sigrid.skoglund@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Ingrid  Solberg

Stilling:    Forsker II

Telefon: 980 52 913
E-post: ingrid.solberg@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Øyvind  Solem

Stilling:    Forsker III

Telefon: 926 46 601
E-post: oyvind.solem@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Merethe Hagen  Spets

Stilling:    Overingeniør

Telefon: 959 29 662
E-post: merethe.spets@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Line Elisabeth  Sundt-Hansen

Stilling:    Forsker I

Telefon: 984 21 195
E-post: line.elisabeth.sundt-hansen@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Eva Bonsak  Thorstad

Stilling:    Forsker II

Telefon: 916 61 130
E-post: eva.thorstad@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Ola  Ugedal

Stilling:    Seniorforsker

Telefon: 406 18 589
E-post: ola.ugedal@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Ingebrigt  Uglem

Stilling:    Seniorforsker

Telefon: 934 66 210
E-post: ingebrigt.uglem@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Eva Marita  Ulvan

Stilling:    Overingeniør

Telefon: 994 09 296
E-post: eva.ulvan@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Finn  Økland

Stilling:    Forsker II

Telefon: 934 66 795
E-post: finn.okland@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Gunnel Marie  Østborg

Stilling:    Avdelingsingeniør

Telefon: 950 31 099
E-post: gunnel.ostborg@nina.no
Vis detaljer
 

Contact

Postal address:
P.O. Box 5685 Sluppen, NO-7485 Trondheim, Norway
Visiting address:
Høgskoleringen 9, 7034 Trondheim, Norway 
Phone: +47 73 80 14 00
Telefax: +47 73 80 14 01
E-mail: firmapost@nina.no

Research groups

Wild salmonids - Research Director Kjetil Hindar
Hydropower and climat - Research Director Ingeborg Palm Helland
Aquaculture and coastal ecosystems - Research Director Tor F. Næsje
Freshwater ecosystems - Research Director Odd Terje Sandlund

About NINA

The Norwegian Institute for Nature Research (NINA) is Norway’s leading institution for applied ecological research.

Work in NINA

Do you want to work for NINA? See vacancies.

Projects in NINA

Contact us

 P.O. Box 5685 Sluppen,
     NO-7485 Trondheim

 Phone +47 73 80 14 00
 E-mail: firmapost@nina.no