NINA Bergen

NINA Bergen conducts research on plant and animal life in Norway, both on land and in water. Coastal and landscape ecology, from sea to mountains, is a key dimension for us and for the expanded western region, for which we have extra interest and responsibility.

""

Some of the employees at NINA Bergen. From left: Per Arild Aarrestad, Rakel Blaalid, Joachim Paul Töpper, Geir Systad and Arild Landa. Photo NINA.​

An important basis for research is to understand how ecological processes vary in time and space, especially links between organisms and ecosystems, and how these are affected by today's many environmental changes. Our contributions to national and international research are also the starting point for assignments and advice for state, regional and local government and for the business community. NINA Bergen currently has projects in a number of groups of organisms, such as otters, arctic fox, seabirds, insects and a number of fungi and plant groups.

Who we are

Per Gerhard Ihlen

Research Director Bergen

Telephone: +47 982 44 109
E-mail: per.ihlen@nina.no
View details
 

Per Arild Aarrestad

Scientific Advisor

Telephone: +47 934 66 748

View details
 

Rakel Blaalid

Researcher I

Telephone: +47 454 57 585
E-mail: rakel.blaalid@nina.no
View details
 

Arild Breistøl

Senior Technician

Telephone: +47 930 31 521
E-mail: arild.breistol@nina.no
View details
 

Joseph Chipperfield

Researcher II

Telephone: +47 900 46 829
E-mail: joseph.chipperfield@nina.no
View details
 

Mari Jokerud

Researcher II

Telephone: +47 970 83 099
E-mail: mari.jokerud@nina.no
View details
 

Arild Magne Landa

Senior Research Scientist

Telephone: +47 930 87 930
E-mail: arild.landa@nina.no
View details
 

Sindre Molværsmyr

Senior Technician

Telephone: +47 942 55 715
E-mail: sindre.molvarsmyr@nina.no
View details
 

Anna Nilsson

Researcher I

Telephone: +47 413 67 140
E-mail: anna.nilsson@nina.no
View details
 

Geir Helge Systad

Researcher I

Telephone: +47 924 40 029
E-mail: geir.systad@nina.no
View details
 

Joachim Paul Töpper

Researcher I

Telephone: +47 402 84 633
E-mail: joachim.topper@nina.no
View details
 

Øystein Varpe

Scientific Advisor


E-mail: oystein.varpe@nina.no
View details
 

Linn Vassvik

Senior Technician

Telephone: +47 482 68 342
E-mail: linn.vassvik@nina.no
View details
 

NINA Bergen


Thormøhlensgate 55
5006 Bergen

 firmapost@nina.no
  73 80 14 00

Research director: 
Per Gerhard Ihlen
 982 44 109